Whey Protein Dangers, Side Effects, Benefits And Reviews

Whey Protein is called thus as it is obtained from Whey which is the liquid that is left behind after milk is curdled and strained, it is a by-product of the cheese manufacturing process. It is a compound composed of proteins obtained from whey. It is commonly and widely used as a health supplement as it is an excellent source of protein. It has a high nutritional value and there are many benefits of whey protein. However there are considerable side effects as well. It is important to monitor the amount of protein one is consuming through his or her diet. Additional amount of protein in any form, even as whey protein can cause a lot of side effects. One must remember that the daily requirement of protein is one gram per pound of body weight. Anything taken in excess is harmful.

The commonly seen side effects and dangers because of Whey protein are as follows:

Lactose Intolerance is one of the commonest side effects. Whey protein is derived from milk and contains about 5 % to 6 % of lactose. People suffering from lactose intolerance are unable to digest lactose which is sugar of milk. Lactose is present in Whey protein and hence people suffering from intolerance to lactose are unable to handle whey protein as well. They may develop symptoms like abdominal cramps, abdominal bloating, flatulence, nausea and diarrhoea. The symptoms develop 30 minutes to 2 hours after consumption of dairy products or any product containing lactose. For this reason whey protein is available as an isolate and as a concentrate. Those suffering from lactose intolerance are advised whey protein isolate as it contains less amounts of lactose.

Ketosis is another common side effect of Whey Protein. It is a condition in which there are high levels of ketone bodies in the blood. Ketone bodies are produced by the liver by a process called ketogenesis, this condition occurs when ever the glycogen stores in the liver are depleted. This happens when a person is on a low carbohydrate and high protein diet. In the body, normally, carbohydrates are burnt first and used as a source of energy, next fats are burnt and in severe cases when fats and carbohydrates are unavailable, then proteins are used to provide energy to the body. In cases where a person is on a high protein and low carbohydrate diet, the body uses fat as its primary fuel. Liver damage due to ketosis is seen.

Kidney damage is also one of the dangers, and formation of kidney stones is common.

Osteoporosis has been said to be caused as a result of overuse of Whey protein according to some studies. This is still up for debate however because there has been no concrete evidence connecting to two, the studies only suggest.

Cystine is an amino acid which is essential for the production of glutathione. Cystine is present in most whey protein supplements as denatured cystine. Denatured cystine is produced when dairy products are put through various chemical or physical processes. For example when milk is pasteurised cystine is converted into the denatured form which makes it unavailable for usage by the body. So also the processing of whey in order to manufacture whey protein makes the protein denatured and unavailable for use by the body.

Another problem is the presence of artificial sweeteners like aspartame, which is a neuro toxin and dangerous for health.

Whey protein has drug interactions with Levodopa, Quinolones, tetracyclines, Fosomax etc. Use of Whey protein with these drugs is not advised as it interferes with the action of these drugs.

Reviews

Whey Protein is derived from whey which is a by product of the cheese manufacturing process. It is a rich source of protein and is widely used as a dietary supplement. It is rich source of amino acids like leucine, cystine etc. Leucine plays an important role in stimulating protein synthesis. It aids speedy recovery and helps the body adapt to stress. Cystine is important in the production of glutathione which itself is an antioxidant in the body. Glutathione is an antioxidant and prevents the body from free radical damage. There are studies which show that it may reduce the risk of cancer. Whey protein is widely used by athletes, body builders and wrestlers who require high amounts of proteins due to strenuous physical training.

Benefits of Whey Protein are as follows: It is useful for body building. Helps enhance muscle building capacity. Improved fat oxidation process to produce energy in the body. It reduced oxidative damage to the cells.

There are many side effects noticed due to excess whey protein consumption. Some of the side effects are as follows:

Lactose intolerance is one of the side effects of whey protein consumption. As it is derived from whey which is ultimately a milk derived product, it contains lactose. The amount of lactose present is about 5 to 6 %. Those people suffering from lactose intolerance are unable to digest any product that contains lactose in it. Thus whey protein consumption in such people may not be advisable. The individual suffering from lactose intolerance may develop loose motions, abdominal pain, flatulence, distension of the abdomen, in a span of 30 minutes to 2 hours following consumption of any product containing lactose.

Another important side effect of whey protein usage is ketosis. This means over production of ketone bodies in the body. This is produced by the liver by a process called ketogenesis. This occurs when the glycogen stores in the liver are depleted. Liver damage can occur due to ketosis.

Osteoporosis is one of the side effects of over use of whey protein. Kidney damage too could occur and there can be formation of renal stones. Kidney damage is one of the dreaded complications of whey protein usage. Another problem is the presence of artificial sweeteners like aspartame in whey protein which is neuro toxic.

Whey protein also produces drug interactions with many commonly used drugs. Some of the drugs are quinolones, Levodopa, Tetracyclines etc. The efficacy of these drugs is reduced when taken along with whey protein. The absorption of these drugs from the intestines is reduced.

One must remember that the daily requirement of protein by an individual is 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight.

Overall the reviews of whey protein show that each one has to weigh the pros and cons or the benefits and ill effects of this product on their own health. Final decision of whey protein usage must be made based on the physician’s advice, which depends on the state of health, age of the person and the daily requirements of the individual.

 

Putting up some body muscles and toning them up to create a well sculptured body requires more protein intake. If you are trying to build your muscles to possess a great body then you should take a lot of protein. Protein is also good for the immunity system and heals wounds faster.  Aside from protein diet in food intake, you need a food supplement that comes in capsule, tablet or pill. Now there are other forms that you can have protein in your body in the form of juice, bars and powder. What’s good with protein powder is that it takes only 30 minutes for the body to absorb it. Not all proteins are effective for building up body muscles like the protein we get from meat. The best protein for body building is whey, casein, eggs and soy.

Protein Powder Reviews have showed:

a)       Whey – most commonly used protein, fast acting and releases amino acids immediately for 2 to 3 hours;

b)      Casein – extremely slow digesting protein but continues to release amino acids longer than whey (7 hours).  It is recommended to take this before going to bed.  The slow release of amino acids will help preserve muscle tissue;

c)      Egg – has highest content of amino acids and, also has highest rating of protein efficiency;

d)     Soy – good source is soya beans.  It helps to lower cholesterol.  Usually good for women than men.  It is not recommended for men to take this every day.

How much protein intake you need per day?  It entirely depends on your daily activities.  If you are an athlete or a body builder, you need more than what a normal activities require.

Search for some protein powder reviews for you to learn more about Protein powder and it being one of the most effective if you take it as a power drink or even eat it for dessert. You can have this power drink in the morning, as a snack, in between meals, with meals, before going to sleep, or after a workout, but not before or during a workout.

Look for whey protein powder reviews if you want to know what to consider when you are looking for a protein powder:  First, you need to check if it has natural ingredients.  Is it low on sugar?  Does it contain some vitamins and minerals that your body needs?  Is it good for your overall health?  And does it taste good?  For the taste, you can have it with a fruit like in a fruit shake for that power drink. Protein powder fruit shake is good for a meal replacement if you’re on a diet that requires you to eat small meals.

When protein powder is taken as a drink, it breaks down and releases nitrogen, aside from amino acids, and this nitrogen is flushed out through the kidneys.  That’s why people who take protein powder drink will have to release nitrogen through frequent urination. This frequency can cause stress to your kidneys.  So if you have kidney problems, this can be harmful to you.  If you don’t have a kidney problem, then it is alright even if you take too much protein as there are no studies that showed that excessive protein is harmful.



403 Forbidden


nginx


Similar Posts:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 7.2/10 (23 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +9 (from 13 votes)
Whey Protein Dangers, Side Effects, Benefits And Reviews, 7.2 out of 10 based on 23 ratings

Written by

36 Comments to “Whey Protein Dangers, Side Effects, Benefits And Reviews”

  1. john says:

    whey is harmless its only there to help you recover better so you dont put yourself under any unessery stress, also you dont haved to eat like 3 steaks to get the same amount of protein

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Siddartha says:

    Hello All,

    I am of Indian origin. I take a scoop of whey with fat free milk half an hour before workout and 15 mins after work out, and before bedtime. I do weight training and HIIT training. Lost 25 pounds of fat in 5 months and waiting for my 8 pack to show up :).

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  3. axcel says:

    m 21 yr and my height is 6ft, body weight is 70kgs , actually
    i want to bulk up and gain approx 20kgs more
    so, my ques is “can only whey protine help me to increase my body weight to 90kgs or i need to eat creatine along with whey protine”
    my friend suggest me to take some capsules he also taking they are effective but are to good
    or safe to take.???
    plz help me….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  4. rambodo says:

    Hello ppl
    I am 23 ,wt 73kgs, and i do daily wrkout of about 60-70mins since last 3 mnths
    I need sugestion on wether can i take whey protein or not.i do suffer light indigestion on consumption of milk.which whey should i preffer ,how much should i take and when should i take it -post or pre workout.help me
    Thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 6 votes)
    • M Nauman says:

      Whey protein is is not 100% beneficial for your health it could be dangerous for you and you can get same result by consuming animal products such as egg whitening Fish Chicken mutton and beef etc.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    • Najeem says:

      Take it a hour before you go to GYM and 2 hours after breakfast , two times daily

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. piyush says:

    i am 19 years old i am very thin ..my height 5.8 foot but my body is so thin ..i ask to you which products buy in whey so please give me sugesstions

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. sunita says:

    it very usefull informetion about protin. thx

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  7. Jaco says:

    Hey,
    I have lost about 120 pounds over five years. Currently I weigh 230 pounds and intend to loose further 30 pounds. However, in the process my skin and body has become extremely loose and is literally hanging..i have also been working out in the gym (lifting, cardio, aerobics etc.) on a not very frequent basis.

    Few of my friends are advising to take whey protein (isolate – low on carbs and high on protein) to build muscle which will tigthen the hanging skin and other parts of the body..

    Need your advise if whey protein will actually help, and the no. of scoops to be taken before/after workout and if whey protein – isolate is the right kind..

    Appreciate assistance

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
    • Lisa Henry says:

      Hi Jaco,

      Congratulations on your weight loss! The only way to remove excess skin is by surgical removal. I would recommend Dr. Kimball Crofts, of Lindon, UT if this is something you are interested in. He is absolutely outstanding. Building muscle mass is a fantastic idea, but after losing so much weight, you will likely still be left with redundant skin tissue. Good luck and many congrats!

      Lisa

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
    • Sushant says:

      Hi,
      I had a similar problem. Some parts of my body became loose when I lost weight. My advice is that you work out regularly. Once you become regular, you’ll end up losing weight and your muscles will shape up nicely at the same time. Your work out should be such that it gives equal importance to cardio and muscle training. Once you’ve reached the weight that you wanted to achieve, then you should start taking protiens.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. yash says:

    i do gym regularly from 4-5months…….i got all d cuts and have perfect shape…jus i want to grow my muscles bigger…my wait is 62kg!!
    tell me how much should i consume whey protein per day !!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  9. barnabas says:

    thnx for the info

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. Besee says:

    Wow, very informative post Steve I’ll be sure to bookmark this. As a whey protein powder user myself I appreciate your research. Thanks!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  11. Are you says:

    Dealing with web marketers companies is tough with so many illegal providers online

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. manoj says:

    my age is 37& wt is 80kg& bp is 130/100 Is it right time to take whey protein

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
  13. Rebecca says:

    Actually Tanjil islam is correct! Whey is an animal based protein that can cause allergic reactions such as gas, bloating, and stomach aches because of some chemicals used when its being processed or if you react to dariy products. Its also has high cholesterol which then can lead to heart disease. A long with soy proteins. Soy can bring on allergies as well even though it is a veggie based protein. Soy also contains estrogen which ovbiously is not good for men. But also for women because the soy is giving your body more estrogen so it can throw off hormo levels. So therefor, Rice protein and Yellow Pea protein is the BEST option! Rice and Pea proteins together make up the most amazing protein suppliment due to the fact that it is 100% vegan, hypoallergenic, and are all natural plant based proteins! Do the research before using whey or soy suppliments! I have and will stick with my protein (rice, pea, and cranberry) from Arbonne!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  14. nitin says:

    my height 5,10 my weight 64 my age 21 i want to take whey protein ,can you tell me which type of protein should i take ,also tell me price list and i live in india where can i purchace,how we identify protein is orignal or duplicate

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
    • Tilak says:

      Dear Nitin,
      If u r not allergic to milk (as it will be having lactose -milk sugar) u can have Whey protein, but my suggestion is don’t go for Soy protein as it’ll be having more of estrogen, it is better suited to women, now RP (Protein extracted from rice) is really good for the health as well as for pocket, do some research in your local area from where u can get Nutribiotic Rice Protein.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  15. kobebe says:

    Hi,lm a powerlifter and l just started using a super advance whey protein in the last two weeks now.l take 2 soops every day after training,could you plz advise if this is suitable for my training,and aslo plz advice of how much l do need to take.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
    • Tilak says:

      Dear Kobebe,
      Good u r having whey, that means u r not allergic to lactose (milk sugar) yes…. It depends on ur body weight, duration of ur training, daily intake of ur calories and on…… so do mail me, I’ll try to help u with the best.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  16. raj says:

    hey i joint to gym 2 months and i dont know for diets i m healthy body and i have gain muscels pls help

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    • Liben@bigbiceps says:

      hi raj,
      to gain muscles diet is very important. First thing i advice you to do is don’t eat rice. eat chappathi, reduce all the cholestrol contained foods, oils.
      Eat egg white, banana, peanut, peanut butter, oats, milk and fish
      Chicken to an extend is good, but make sure you dont take excess chicken
      Eat leafy vegetable as it gives you more vitamins and fibre
      start off with lesser weight and gradually increase the weight, when your body starts responding you have to spend little more time
      Take less rest during each sets of 30 secs to 40 secs
      And make sure you do two body muscle exercise per day
      Ver Very important advice is GO To the GYM EVERYDAY… DON’T LOOSE HOPE, NO MATTER WHAT OTHERS SAY BE CONFIDENT AND BOOST UP YOURSELF

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
      • JONJO says:

        I agree with most of what you say, but… Don’t go to the gym everyday. It’s unnecessary and counter-productive – your body needs time to rest and grow. 4-5 times a week is more than enough.

        Also, brown rice is good.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  17. Erikson says:

    I will start in 2 days in my beginner’s gym workout to tone my body. Also I would like to gain more muscles in the process. Is it recommendable to intake whey protein?
    Can please explain further ‘one gram for each pound of body weight’ formulation?

    Thanks!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  18. manish says:

    Hi,

    Thanks for giving all these information, I am doing workout in desi arena, with all the equipments, right now I workout is very less only of biceps and chin-ups and for solders and legs. but after 3-4 month my trainer will increase all these, then should I take this at that time and which product or brand is best for me please suggest.

    If you can provide me any tips- right now I am taking chickpeas and soybean and milk in the morning and after that I take normal diet in afternoon and night chapati and sabji (regular indian food).

    Please suggest, waiting for your feedback!!

    Thanks….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  19. carlos says:

    I take whey protein 1scoop add twoo eggs and one banana is that too much?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  20. Omide says:

    Could u plz tell me that, will whey protien increase somebody’s hight ? Thnx

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -4 (from 6 votes)
    • Karthik says:

      Nope buddy…. whey protein’s r mainly meant fr the growth of the body !!!! but not to increase d height…..

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  21. m. dusina says:

    view the internet video by Dr. Mercola concerning the best form of whey protein to consume..not WHEY ISOLATE!
    pure whey protein, i gram for each pound of body weight..otherwise toxic effects can build up in your body over time.
    watch Dr. Mercola explain all this on the web. thank you.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 6 votes)
  22. imran vasu says:

    hi and thankz for the info but i have taking protien for more than 10 years n i don’t think i am intolerent to it but i get very bad mucus production do u think the pprotien is the cause of it thanks?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  23. Tanjil islam says:

    We should avoid whey protein and use rice protein.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -3 (from 5 votes)
  24. saab singh parn says:

    thnx for giving me knowledge

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  25. sandeep kumar says:

    thank u for giving me knoledge abt proein…diet or suppliment
    I want that, if u’ve lot of information abt protein or body building so kindly leave this type of whole information in my E-mail ID-nateriyasandeep@yahoo.in
    Thank u….!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  26. sandeep kumar says:

    thank u for giving me knoledge abt proein…

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Message

Web Analytics